2nd Karl Schwarzschild Meeting on Gravitational Physics (2nd circular)

More info:  external link
Date:  2015-07-20  -  2015-07-24

Location:  Frankfurt, Germany

The 2nd Karl Schwarzschild Meeting on Gravitational Physics will be held in Frankfurt am Main, Germany on 20-24 July 2015. The conference will be held at the Frankfurt Institute for Advanced Studies (FIAS) and will focus on the general theme of black holes, gravity and information.

The meeting will bring together both working specialists in the field and rising young researchers to foster new conversations and collaborations. Invited speakers will deliver plenary talks on the broad topic of black holes, gravity, and information, highlighting its applications to astrophysics, cosmology, particle physics, and strongly correlated systems.

In addition to plenary speaker and senior scientist talks, we feature several plenary sessions devoted to the next generation of gravitational physicists. The senior scientists will also serve as “mentors” to the attending younger generation of researchers.

Due to the limited size of the venue, early registration slots are limited. Early registration will expire on June 15th, 2015, or when the capacity has been reached. Limited financial reimbursement is available, for which participants may submit an application along with their registration.

Karl Schwarzschild was a native of Frankfurt who published his first papers while attending the Gymnasium Frankfurt in the late 1880s. The year 2015 will mark the 100th anniversary of the derivation of Schwarzschild’s famous solution to Einstein’s equations. The conference venue will be the Frankfurt Institute for Advanced Studies on the modern Riedberg Campus of Goethe University.

Distinguished key note speaker:
Gerard ‘t Hooft (Utrecht University)

Keynote Speakers:
Bernard Carr (Queen Mary, University of London)
Georgi Dvali (LMU/MPI Munich, New York University)
George Ellis (University of Cape Town)
Valeria Ferrari (Sapienza University of Rome)
Steve Giddings (University of California Santa Barbara)
Daniel Grumiller (TU Vienna)
Achim Kempf (University of Waterloo/Perimeter Institute/Institute for
Quantum Computing)
Claus Laemmerzahl (ZARM/University of Bremen)
Robert Mann (University of Waterloo, Perimeter Institute)
Frans Pretorius (Princeton University)
Luciano Rezzolla (Goethe University Frankfurt)
Carlo Rovelli (CPT/Aix-Marseille University)
Ralf Schutzhold (University of Duisburg-Essen)
Herman Verlinde (Princeton University)
Elizabeth Winstanley (The University of Sheffield)

Organizing Committee
Piero Nicolini (FIAS and Goethe University, Frankfurt)
Matthias Kaminski (University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa)
Jonas Mureika (Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles)
Marcus Bleicher (FIAS and Goethe University, Frankfurt)

International Advisory Committee:
Jacob Bekenstein (Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
Juan M. Maldacena (IAS, Princeton)
Donald Marolf (University of California Santa Barbara)
Martin Reuter (Johannes Gutenberg University of Mainz)
Carlo Rovelli (CPT/Aix-Marseille University)
Dam T. Son (University of Chicago)