STFC Rutherford Fellowship, Nottingham, UK

More info:  external link
Deadline:  2019-07-15

Location:  Nottingham, UK

The School of Mathematical Sciences of the University of Nottingham plans to support a candidate for the Ernest Rutherford Fellowship awarded by the STFC. The duration of the fellowship is 5-years and the STFC deadline is September 19th 2019. More information about the fellowship can be found here:

The School of Mathematical Sciences can support only one candidate and we will review applications from interested candidates. Expressions of interest should be sent to Professor Thomas Sotiriou, email: Thomas.Sotiriou[AT] They should be received before July 15th in order to receive full consideration and should include a full CV (a research statement or proposal is not necessary at this stage).

Successful applicants will be hosted by the Quantum Gravity Group that includes John Barrett, Steffen Gielen, Kirill Krasnov, Jorma Louko, Alex Schenkel, Thomas Sotiriou and Silke Weinfurtner. The current research interests of the group include: alternative theories of gravity, analogue gravity, black holes and compact stars (strong gravity), quantum field theory in curved spacetimes, quantum gravity Research proposals in topics that are complementary to the above are also very welcome.

The group has close ties (including a joint STFC Consolidated Grant) with the Particle Theory Group in the School of Physics and Astronomy, which includes Tasos Avgoustidis, Clare Burrage, Ed Copeland, Anne Green, Adam Moss, Tony Padilla and Paul Saffin.

Candidates who would like to be consider for other national fellowship schemes (e.g. Royal Society University Research Fellowship, EPSRC Early Career, etc.) or the Nottingham Research and Anne McLaren Fellowships are strongly encouraged to mention it in their expression of interest.