Update on ISGRG Prizes and ISGRG Fellows

More info:  external link

Message to ISGRG members: You should have received an email from me containing the information given below. If you did not receive it, I may not have your current email address, your email server may have rejected it, or your membership has lapsed. Please contact me (beverlyberger[AT]me.com) if any of these might be the case,

Beverly K. Berger
Secretary, International Society on General Relativity and Gravitation

The message:
The information below may also be found at http://www.ISGRG.org.

Please nominate your colleagues for the honors listed below. All of them require the primary nominator to be an ISGRG member. Those nominated for ISGRG Fellow must also be ISGRG members as must be the writers of supporting letters. In all other cases, the nominee and writers of supporting letters are not required to be a member. The honors are listed in order of the urgency of the deadline:

The Ehlers and Bergmann-Wheeler Thesis Prizes:
Deadline extended: The new deadline is 31 December 2021

If you have or know of a former student whose doctoral thesis was completed after 1 September  2018, please consider nominating now.

In 2009, the Society introduced two new thesis prizes, to be awarded every three years. The Juergen Ehlers Thesis Prize is for the best Ph.D. thesis in the areas of mathematical and numerical general relativity and the Bergmann-Wheeler Thesis Prize for the best Ph.D. thesis in the broad area encompassing all approaches to quantum gravity. These prizes complement the Gravitational Wave (GWIC Braccini) thesis prize, awarded by GWIC, whose funds are administered by the Society. See http://www.isgrg.org/ehlersprize.php or http://www.isgrg.org/bergwheelprize.php for complete procedures to submit a nomination and for the names of previous recipients.

ISGRG Fellows: The deadline for nominations is 31 December 2021.

Note: The selection of fellows no longer includes nominations submitted before January 2019. If you previously nominated someone, please submit an updated nomination.

In 2010, the Society first conferred the title of Fellow on members who have made outstanding scientific contributions. The list of fellows thus named may be found at http://www.isgrg.org/fellows.php. Nominations are now being accepted for the upcoming round of fellows to be inducted in 2022 during the ISGRG business meeting at GR23. The criteria and procedures are described at http://www.isgrg.org/fellowrules.php.

IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in General Relativity and Gravitation:
Nominations open 1 November 2021 – but if your nomination package is ready earlier, please send it to me. The deadline is 1 February 2022.

In 2013, the Society first offered an IUPAP “Young Scientist Prize” to recognize outstanding achievements of scientists at early stages of their career as described at http://www.isgrg.org/IUPAPprize.php. The winners of the 2014 through 2021 prizes and the citations may also be found on that website. The nominations for the 2022 prize will open on 1 November 2021 with the recipient to be announced on 14 March 2022.