Awards for Essays on Gravitation

More info:  external link

Gravity Research Foundation

In 2010 for our sixty-first competition, the trustees are offering five Awards for short Essays for the purpose of stimulating thought and encouraging work on Gravitation. The stipulations follow:

(1) We will make these Awards on May 15, 2010 for the best essays, 1500 words or less (excluding abstracts, diagrams, references and minimal equations), on the subject of Gravitation, its theory, applications, or effects.

(2) The First Award will be $4000.00
The Second Award will be 1250.00
The Third Award will be 1000.00
The Fourth Award will be 750.00
The Fifth Award will be 500.00

(3) Essays must be in English and e-mailed in a single PDF file before April 1, 2010. Early submission is greatly encouraged. One essay only will be accepted from each author. Notify us if you do not receive an e-mail confirmation within 48 hours.

(4) Cover pages should include essay title; authors’ names, addresses and e-mail addresses (if available); the statement: “Essay written for the Gravity Research Foundation 2010 Awards for Essays on Gravitation”; submission date; and a summary paragraph of 125 words or less.

(5) The decision of the judges will be final, no reviews will be provided and no essays will be returned.

(6) The list of winners will be posted on our website: on or about May 15, 2010. All participants will receive a general e-mail notification.

(7) The five award-winning essays will be published in the Journal of General Relativity and Gravitation (GRG) and, subsequently, in a special issue of the International Journal of Modern Physics D (IJMPD). Authors of all other essays are free and encouraged to publish their essays after May 15th. Authors of essays designated Honorable Mention will be invited to submit their essays to the IJMPD where these may undergo additional refereeing at editorial discretion for possible publication.

Submission e-mail address: George M. Rideout, Jr., President

Recent First Award Winners:
2009 – Alexander Burinskii, Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia
2008 – T. Padmanabhan, IUCAA, Pune, India
2007 –  S. Carlip, University of California at Davis
2006 – Vijay Balasubramanian, University of Pennsylvania; Donald Marolf, University of California at Santa Barbara & Moshe Rozali, University of British Columbia
2005 – John Ellis, CERN; N. E. Mavromatos, King’s College London & D. V. Nanopoulos, Texas A&M University
2004 – Maulik Parikh, Columbia University, New York
2003 – Martin Bojowald, The Pennsylvania State University
2002 – Steven B. Giddings, University of California at Santa Barbara & Stanford University, Stanford, California
2001 – Csaba Csáki & Joshua Erlich, Los Alamos National Lab & Christophe Grojean, University of California at Berkeley
2000 – Arthur Lue & Erick J. Weinberg, Columbia University, New York
1999 – John Ellis, CERN; N. E. Mavromatos, University of Oxford & D. V. Nanopoulos, Texas A & M University
1998 – Viqar Husain, University of British Columbia, Vancouver
1997 – Robert Myers, McGill University, Québec
1996 – D. V. Ahluwalia, Los Alamos National Lab & C. Burgard, Universität Hamburg/DESY, II, Germany
1995 – Gary T. Horowitz, University of California at Santa Barbara & Robert Myers, McGill University, Québec