Binary Star Evolution: Mass Loss, Accretion, and Mergers

More info:  external link
Location:  Mykonos, Greece

Following an enthusiastic response to our preliminary announcement of the conference on binary evolution, we are even more looking forward to our gathering honoring Ron Webbink and further celebrating Peter Eggleton’s and Ed van den Heuvel’s birthdays!

We have now compiled our Scientific Organizing Committee and organization plans are advancing rapidly. Please check out the conference web site:

The conference organizing supporters are the Center for Interdisciplinary Exploration and Research in Astrophysics (CIERA) at Northwestern University and the “Associazione Cefalù and Astronomy”. In this official announcement, we are contacting you with information on important deadlines, and with a request for submission of brief suggestions for potential presentations.



January 4, 2010 – submission of breif suggestions for presentations (to w-finney[AT];
e-mail subject: Presentation Suggestion by <your name here>)

February 15, 2010 – submission of presentation titles and abstracts

March 1, 2010 – early registration; announcement of tentative scientific program

March 15, 2010 – announcement of final scientific program

April 19, 2010 – room reservations at conference hotel & late registration


We invite all interested, potential participants to send us brief suggestion(s) (a couple of sentences) for presentations they would like to give on results that generally connect to any of the prospective topics from the following list:
* Mass and Angular Momentum Transfer & Loss
* Physics of Common Envelope Evolution
* Contact Binaries
* Collisions/Mergers
* Binaries in Clusters
* Cataclysmic Variables & Symbiotic Stars
* X-ray Binaries
* Binary and Millisecond Pulsars
* Binary Supernova Progenitors
* Gravitational Wave Sources

We particularly invite presentations of recent, exciting results or suggestions for reviews of specific (sub-)areas of interest. The scientific program will comprise 10 sessions (two morning and one late afternoon) over 4 days with a half day free for excursions.
Please send your suggestions to: w-finney[AT] by January 4, 2010.


Mykonos is one of the most beautiful islands in Greece. It has preserved its unique architectural character, crystal clear waters, iconic bays and sandy beaches, despite its popularity. The end of June is one of the best times to visit Greece, before the high traffic of mid-July to August. Our conference will be held at one of the best resort hotels on Mykonos, Greece:

Saint John Hotel, –

It is located in the bay of Agios Ioannis, one of the best beaches on the island, and just across from the island of Delos. A set of rooms has been reserved at the hotel (see for conference participants at rates much lower than their regular prices for the time of the conference.

Rates are per room (2 occupants) per night and include breakfast and all taxes:
Garden View: 160 euros
Executive Sea View: 195 euros

You will be able to submit your room reservations directly to the hotel by faxing a reservation form. Well before the deadline for the room reservations we will set up a system through which participants interested in finding room-mates can pair up. In the coming months we will also provide a list of nearby hotels with lower room rates. More information on all these issues will appear on the conference web site and will be circulated in our next circular some time in the middle of January.


The deadline for early registration is March 1, 2010. The early-registration fee is equal to 250 euros (300 euros for late registration). This fee will cover the conference room, all coffee breaks, the registration reception on the evening of June 21, the conference dinner, and the proceedings book to be published in the AIP Conference Series.
Information about how to register will appear on the conference web site and in our next circular.


Matthew Bailes – Swinburne University of Technology
Luciano Burderi – University of Cagliari
Tiziana di Salvo – University of Palermo
Peter Eggleton – Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Zhanwen Han – Chinese Academy of Sciences
Vicky Kalogera – Northwestern University
Andrew King – University of Leicester
Gijs Nelemans – Radboud University
Fred Rasio – Northwestern University
Hans Ritter – MPA Garching
Mike Shara – American Museum of Natural History
Chris Tout – University of Cambridge
Ed van den Heuvel – University of Amsterdam
Ron Webbink – University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Dayal Wickramasinghe – Australian National University