The Ins and Outs of Black Holes

More info:  external link
Location:  Annapolis, MD, U.S.A.

“The Ins and Outs of Black Holes”
Annapolis, Maryland, USA
November 15-17, 2010

The Joint Space Science Institute (JSI) — consisting of astrophysicists and physicists from the University of Maryland and NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center — is hosting a cross-cutting conference to examine the physics and astrophysics of energy flows in and around black holes. We plan to bring together 80-100 scientists from around the world to discuss observations, phenomenology, fundamental theory and how they all fit together. Sessions will be organized around broad questions:

* What are the observations that we need to explain?
* How is plasma physics important for understanding accretion?
* What interesting particle physics takes place near black holes?
* How does black hole spin modulate the nature of the emitted energy?
* What can observations of black holes tell us about the theory of gravity?
* What can we learn from emissions from merging black holes?

Confirmed invited Speakers:
Nahum Arav (Virginia Tech)
Steven Balbus (ENS-Paris)
Roger Blandford (KIRPAC/Stanford)
Tamara Bogdanovic (Maryland)
Andrew Fabian (Cambridge)
Ted Jacobson (Maryland)
Julian Krolik (Johns Hopkins)
Kristen Menou (Columbia)
Richard Mushotzky (Maryland)
Angela Olinto (Chicago)
Tsvi Piran (Hebrew U. of Jerusalem)
Guenter Sigl (Hamburg)
Nico Yunes (Princeton)

VENUE: The conference will be held at the Loews Annapolis Hotel, located less than half a mile from the Maryland State House in the historic capital city of Maryland, and within easy walking distance of the waterfront and restaurant district. Annapolis is easily accessible from Baltimore-Washington International Airport (BWI), Reagan National Airport and Dulles International Airport.

REGISTRATION: Registration will open in early September and will be on a first-come first-serve basis. Registration will be accessible via . We encourage you to register early.

FURTHER INFORMATION: To sign up for further email announcements, or if you have any other queries about this meeting, please email Chris Reynolds (chris[at] or Peter Shawhan (pshawhan[at] For further information, please go to .

Alessandra Buonanno
Jean Cottam
Bill Dorland
Jordan Goodman
Richard Mushotzky
Chris Reynolds (co-Chair)
Peter Shawhan (Chair)