Spanish Relativity Meeting ERE2014, Valencia

More info:  external link
Date:  2014-09-01  -  2014-09-05

Location:  Valencia, Spain

ERE2014: Spanish Relativity Meeting 2014 – Encuentros Relativistas Espanoles 2014
“Almost 100 years after Einstein’s revolution”
Valencia, Spain, 1-5 September 2014



The 2014 edition of the “Spanish Relativity Meeting” (ERE2014) will be held in Valencia from the 1st to the 5th of September 2014. The Spanish Relativity Meeting (ERE) is an international conference devoted to Relativity and Gravitation which is organized every year by different members of the Spanish Society of Gravitation and Relativity (SEGRE). This year, it will be hosted by the University of Valencia. A brief historical background of the ERE can be found at .

The meeting will address the status of gravitation and general relativity one year before the centennial of the publication of Einstein’s theory, which will be celebrated on November 25th 2015, as it was stablished by the International Society on General Relativity and Gravitation. In particular ERE2014 will focus on three research lines: relativistic astrophysics, mathematical relativity, and the interphase between gravitation and quantum theory.

The meeting will take place at the ADEIT building and will consist of plenary talks given by invited speakers during the morning sessions and contributed talks during the afternoon.The latter will be distributed in topical parallel sessions.

The interdisciplinary character of the meeting is reflected in the list of confirmed invited speakers:

Abhay Ashtekar, Penn State University, USA.
Victor Cardoso, CENTRA/IST, Lisboa, Portugal.
Christos Charmousis, Paris-Sud Orsay, Paris, France.
Alessandro Fabbri, Centro Fermi, Italy and IFIC, Valencia, Spain.
Eric Gourgoulhon, Observatoire de Paris, France.
Javier Gorosabel, Instituto de Astrofísica de Andalucía, Granada, Spain.
Philippe LeFloch, UPMC, Paris 6, France.
Francisco Lobo, CAAUL, Lisboa, Portugal.
Leonard Parker, University Wisconsin-Milwaukee, USA.
Miquel Portilla, Universitat de València, Spain.
Jose Maria Martín Senovilla, UPV/EHU, Bilbao, Spain.
Alberto Sesana, Albert Einstein Institute, Golm, Germany.
Masaru Shibata, Yukawa Institute for Theoretical Physics, Kyoto, Japan.
Nikolaos Stergioulas, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece.
Jorge Zanelli, CEC, Chile.

ERE2014 Scientific Advisory Board:

Miguel Alcubierre (ICN, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México).
Abhay Ashtekar (Penn State University).
Robert Beig (Institute of Theoretical Physics, University of Viena).
Curt Cutler (Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Inst. of Technology).
Thibault Damour (Institute des Hautes Etudes Scientifiques, Paris).
Roy Maartens (Institute of Cosmology and Gravitation, University of Portsmouth).
Fernando Quevedo (DAMTP, University of Cambridge).
Matt Visser (Victoria University of Wellington).

ERE2014 Local Organising Committee:

Jose Antonio Font, UVEG.
Jose María Ibanez, UVEG.
Pablo Cerda-Duran, UVEG.
Jose Navarro-Salas, CSIC/UVEG.
Gonzalo J. Olmo, CSIC/UVEG.

Information regarding registration, abstract submission, accommodation and travel can be found at the web page of the conference

Looking forward to meeting all interested participants in Valencia this September!

With our best regards,

The Local Organising Committee