100 Years of General Relativity, Penn State (1st announcement)

More info:  external link
Date:  2015-06-08  -  2015-06-12

Location:  University Park, PA, USA

100 Years of General Relativity
First Announcement

An international conference to celebrate 100 years of general relativity will be held at the University Park campus of Penn State from June 8th to 12th, 2015 under the auspices of the International Society on General Relativity and Gravitation (ISGRG) and the Topical Group on Gravitation (GGR) of the American Physical Society. Please mark these dates in your calenders.

The goal of the scientific program will be two-fold: To assess the current status of our field in broad terms, and discuss future directions. The plenary part of the conference will feature invited talks as well as “perspectives sessions”. The plenary talks will review the current status of various areas. In the “perspective sessions” 3-4 experts will be invited to present their vision on a single theme (such as “the third generation gravitational wave detectors”, or “the next decade of cosmology”, or “when gravity meets the quantum”, or, ….). Parallel sessions will be divided into four themes used traditionally in the ISGRG tri-annual conferences: i) Mathematical and numerical GR; ii) Relativistic Astrophysics and Cosmology; iii) Experimental and observational gravity; and iv) Quantum aspects of gravity. They will feature contributed talks, as well as a few invited talks, providing introductions to broad sub-areas.

ISGRG has commissioned a volume to celebrate the centennial, to be published by the Cambridge University Press. This volume will be released at the conference.

The conference will offer several opportunities for informal discussions through social gatherings and a banquet. Every effort will be made to keep the registration fee low, especially for younger researchers. The local airport at Penn State is University Park/State College (SCE), served by Delta, United, and US Airways with flights from Chicago, Detroit, Philadelphia, and Washington DC. More detailed information will be provided in the subsequent announcements.

Abhay Ashtekar
Beverly Berger
James Isenberg
Malcolm MacCallum