2015 Awards for Essays on Gravitation announcement

More info:  external link

PO BOX 81389

Roger W. Babson (Founder)
George M. Rideout, Jr. (President)

The trustees are pleased to announce the Awards for Essays for 2015.

1. $4,000 – Local Conformal Symmetry: the Missing Symmetry Component for Space and Time by Gerard ‘t Hooft, Institute for Theoretical Physics, Utrecht University and Spinoza Institute, Postbox 80.195, 3508 TD Utrecht, the Netherlands; e-mail: g.thooft[AT]uu.nl

2. $1,250 – Gravity as the Breakdown of Conformal Invariance by Giovanni Amelino-Camelia[1], Michele Arzano[1], Giulia Gubitosi[2], and Joao Magueijo[2], [1]Dipartimento di Fisica, Università La Sapienza and Sez. Roma1 INFN, P.le A. Moro 2, 00185 Roma, Italia, [2]TheoreticalPhysics, Blackett Laboratory, Imperial College, London, SW7 2BZ, United Kingdom; e-mail: giovanni.amelino-camelia[AT]roma1.infn.it, michele.arzano[AT]roma1.infn.it, g.gubitosi[AT]imperial.ac.uk, j.magueijo[AT]imperial.ac.uk

3. $1,000 – Nature Abhors a Horizon by Per Kraus[1] and Samir D. Mathur[2], [1]Department of Physics and Astronomy, UCLA, Los Angeles, CA 90095-1547, [2]Department of Physics, The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH 43210; e-mail: pkraus[AT]ucla.edu, mathur.16[AT]osu.edu

4. $750 – Fractionated Branes and Black Hole Interiors by Emil J. Martinec, Enrico Fermi Inst. and Dept. of Physics, University of Chicago, 5640 S. Ellis Ave., Chicago, IL 60637-1433; e-mail: e-martinec[AT]uchicago.edu

5. $500 – The Essence of Gravitational Waves and Energy by F. I. Cooperstock, Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Victoria, P.O. Box 3055, Victoria, B.C. V8W 3P6, Canada; e-mail: cooperst[AT]uvic.ca

Selected for Honorable Mention this year were (listed in alphabetical order): Tim Adamo; N. Afshordi, R. B. Mann, and R. Pourhasan; Dharam Vir Ahluwalia, Lance Labun, and Giorgio Torrieri; Shreya Banerjee, Sayantani Bera, and Tejinder P. Singh; Tom Banks; Carlos Barcelo, Raul Carballo-Rubio, and Luis J. Garay; John D. Barrow and Alexander A. H. Graham; Eric Bergshoeff, Wout Merbis, Alasdair J. Routh, and Paul K. Townsend; Swastik Bhattacharya and S. Shankaranarayanan; Eugenio Bianchi, Lucas Hackl, and Nelson Yokomizo; N. E. J Bjerrum-Bohr, John F. Donoghue, Basem Kamal El-Menoufi, Barry R. Holstein, Ludovic Plante, and Pierre Vanhove; Xian O. Camanho, Jose D. Edelstein, and Alexander Zhiboedov; Massimo Cerdonio and Carlo Rovelli; Saurya Das; Upasana Das and Banibrata Mukhopadhyay; Aharon Davidson and Ben Yellin; John Bruce Davies; Laurent Freidel, Robert G. Leigh, and Djordje Minic; M. Gasperini; A. Gruppuso and A. Sagnotti; Carlos A. R. Herdeiro and Eugen Radu; Shahar Hod; Preston Jones and Douglas Singleton; Prado Martín-Moruno and Nelson J. Nunes; Ali Masoumi; Eduard G. Mychelkin and Maxim A. Makukov; T. Padmanabhan; Maulik Parikh; Jeremy Sakstein and Kazuya Koyama; Ashoke Sen; C. Sivaram; Joan Sola; C. S. Unnikrishnan and George T. Gillies; Aron C. Wall.

This announcement and abstracts of award-winning and honorable mention essays will be posted when ready on our web site, http://www.gravityresearchfoundation.org. The five award-winning essays will be published in a special issue of the International Journal of Modern Physics D (IJMPD). They will also be posted at a later date on our web site.