2016 Gravity Research Foundation Awards for Essays results

More info:  external link

The trustees are pleased to announce the Awards for Essays for 2016.

1. $4,000 – A Frame-Dependent Gravitational Effective Action Mimics a Cosmological Constant, but Modifies the Black Hole Horizon by Stephen L. Adler, Institute for Advanced Study, Einstein Drive, Princeton, NJ 08540; e-mail: adler[AT]ias.edu

2. $1,250 – New Insights into Quantum Gravity from Gauge/Gravity Duality by Netta Engelhardt and Gary T. Horowitz, Department of Physics, University of California, Santa Barbara, CA 93106; e-mail: engeln[AT]physics.ucsb.edu, gary[AT]physics.ucsb.edu

3. $1,000 – Spontaneous Dimensional Reduction in Quantum Gravity by S. Carlip, Department of Physics, University of California, Davis, CA 95616; e-mail: carlip[AT]physics.ucdavis.edu

4.$750 – Quadratic Gravity: from Weak to Strong by Bob Holdom and Jing Ren, Department of Physics, University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5S1A7; e-mail: bob.holdom[AT]utoronto.ca, jren[AT]physics.utoronto.ca

5. $500 – Axion Experiments to Algebraic Geometry – Testing Quantum Gravity via the Weak Gravity Conjecture by Ben Heidenreich, Matthew Reece, and Tom Rudelius, Department of Physics, Harvard University, Jefferson Laboratory, 17 Oxford St., Cambridge, MA, 02138; e-mail: bjheiden[AT]physics.harvard.edu, mreece[AT]physics.harvard.edu, rudelius[AT]physics.harvard.edu

Selected for Honorable Mention this year were (listed in alphabetical order): Ahmed Farag Ali and Saurya Das; Shreya Banerjee, Sayantani Bera, and Tejinder P. Singh; David Berenstein and Alexandra Miller; Evan Berkowitz, Masanori Hanada, and Jonathan Maltz; Matthias Blau and Martin O’Loughlin; Martin Bojowald; Yuri Bonder; Sumanta Chakraborty and Kinjalk Lochan; Lay Nam Chang, Djordje Minic, Chen Sun, and Tatsu Takeuchi; Alessandro Codello and Rajeev Kumar Jain; Geoffrey Compere; F. I. Cooperstock; Roberto Emparan and Marina Martinez; Willy Fischler and Sandipan Kundu; Steven B. Giddings; Eduardo Guendelman, Emil Nissimov, and Svetlana Pacheva; Hal M. Haggard and Carlo Rovelli; Shahar Hod; A. Landry and M. B. Paranjape; Philip D. Mannheim; Samir D. Mathur; T. Padmanabhan and Hamsa Padmanabhan; Don N. Page; Susha L. Parameswaran and Ivonne Zavala; Tsvi Piran; M. M. Sheikh-Jabbari; Douglas Singleton and Steve Wilburn; W. M. Stuckey, Timothy McDevitt, and Michael Silberstein; Tanmay Vachaspati.

This announcement and abstracts of award-winning and honorable mention essays will be posted when ready on our web site, http://www.gravityresearchfoundation.org. The five award-winning essays will be published in a special issue of the International Journal of Modern Physics D (IJMPD). They will also be posted at a later date on our web site.