Atlantic General Relativity 2017 Conference and Workshop, St. John’s, Canada (2nd announcement)

More info:  external link
Date:  2017-05-28  -  2017-06-02

Location:  St. John's, Canada

Second Announcement: Atlantic General Relativity 2017 Conference and Workshop

The 2017 Atlantic General Relativity Conference will be held from Thursday, June 1 to Friday, June 2 at Memorial University in St. John’s, Newfoundland, Canada. As in previous years Atlantic GR will cover all aspects of classical and quantum gravity. It will consist of two invited talks by Luis Lehner (Perimeter Institute) along with contributed talks by anyone who wishes to speak. We particularly encourage students and post-docs to submit talks.

Atlantic GR will be preceded by a workshop hosted by the Atlantic Association for Research in the Mathematical Sciences (AARMS) collaborative research group (CRG) “Mathematical and physical aspects of black holes”. The main part of the workshop will run from Monday, May 29 to Wednesday, May 31 and also be hosted at Memorial University. It will feature four invited speakers who will each give a series of three lectures, one on each day of the workshop. The speakers will be Stefanos Aretakis (Princeton University, University of Toronto), Jorma Louko (University of Nottingham), Eric Poisson (University of Guelph) and Jeff Winicour (University of Pittsburgh).

Finally, on Sunday May 28 before the main part of the workshop, post-doc members of the AARMS CRG will give a set of introductory lectures aimed at beginning graduate students.

There is no registration fee for either the workshop or the conference. We will accept travel claims from students and post-docs. We will not be able to cover all expenses but hope to be able to reimburse an amount that will cover staying in University residence and (perhaps) partial travel. The amount of reimbursement will depend on the number of participants. Cheques will be mailed out after the meeting concludes.

The local organizing committee is Ivan Booth and Hari Kunduri. The scientific organizing committee is Alan Coley, Jack Gegenberg, Viqar Husain, Robert van den Hoogen and Sanjeev Seahra. Post-doc day is being organized by Andrey Shoom and Jon Ziprick.

More information and online registration at Registration closes on Monday, May 1.

Registration is now open. It will close on Monday, May 1.