3rd Karl Schwarzschild Meeting — Gravity and the Gauge/Gravity Correspondence (2nd circular)

More info:  external link
Date:  2017-07-24  -  2017-07-28

Location:  Frankfurt am Main, Germany

The 3rd Karl Schwarzschild Meeting on Gravitational Physics and the Gauge/Gravity Correspondence will be held in Frankfurt am Main, Germany on 24-28 July 2017. The conference will focus on black holes in astrophysics, quantum gravity, and the gauge/gravity correspondence.

The meeting will bring together both working specialists in the field and rising young researchers to foster new conversations and collaborations. Invited speakers will deliver plenary talks on the broad topic of black holes highlighting applications to astrophysics, quantum gravity, gravitational waves and strongly correlated systems.

In addition to plenary speaker, we feature several plenary sessions for senior scientists, postdoctoral researchers and students. The senior scientists will also serve as “mentors” to the attending younger generation of researchers.

Registration is now open. Please visit the conference website. Early registration will expire on June 11th, 2017, or when the capacity has been reached. Limited financial reimbursement is available, for which participants may submit an application along with their registration.

Karl Schwarzschild was a native of Frankfurt who published his first papers while attending the Gymnasium Frankfurt in the late 1880s. The year 2017 will mark the 101st anniversary of the publication of Schwarzschild’s famous solution to Einstein’s equations. The conference venue will be the Frankfurt Institute for Advanced Studies on the modern Riedberg Campus of Goethe University.

Karl Schwarzschild Lecturer:
Juan Maldacena (IAS)

Keynote Speakers:
Martin Ammon (Friedrich Schiller University Jena)
Raphael Bousso* (UC Berkeley)
Alessandra Buonanno (MPI Potsdam)
Avery Broderick (Waterloo U. & Perimeter Institute)
Johanna Erdmenger (University of Wuerzburg)
Heino Falcke (Radboud University Nijmegen)
Ruth Gregory (Durham University)
Jutta Kunz (University of Oldenburg)
William Unruh (University of British Columbia)
Erik Verlinde* (University of Amsterdam)

* to be confirmed

Organizing Committee:
Piero Nicolini (FIAS and Goethe University, Frankfurt)
Matthias Kaminski (University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa)
Jonas Mureika (Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles)
Marcus Bleicher (FIAS and Goethe University, Frankfurt)

International Advisory Committee:
Claus Laemmerzahl (ZARM & University of Bremen)
Robert Mann (University of Waterloo & Perimeter Institute)
Martin Reuter (Johannes-Gutenberg University, Mainz)
Dam T. Son (University of Chicago)
Herman Verlinde (Princeton University)