The Era of Gravitational-Wave Astronomy, XXXIIIth International Colloquium of the IAP (2nd announcement)

More info:  external link
Date:  2017-06-26  -  2017-06-30

Location:  IAP, Paris, France

XXXIIIth international colloquium of the Institut d’Astrophysique de Paris:
Second announcement

More information:
Contact: faye[AT]
Date: 26-30 June 2017
Location: Paris

The XXXIIIth international colloquium of the Institut d’Astrophysique de Paris on

The Era of Gravitational-Wave Astronomy (TEGrAW)

will be held at the Institut d’Astrophysique de Paris, from June 26th to June 30th 2017. The conference will focus on the most recent developments regarding observations and the theory of gravitational waves. These include experimental advances and future detectors (on the ground and in space), data analysis techniques, black hole astrophysics, theoretical work on the two-body problem, effective theories, numerical relativity, and tests of gravity theories.

Plenary speakers are listed below. Participants are encouraged to submit abstracts of oral contributions.

** Registration **
Early registration fees (till May 12):

* students: 150 euros
* researchers: 250 euros

Beware that late registration will cost 100 euros more. Moreover, for security reasons, registration is *mandatory*. The relevant web page is:

** Deadlines **
May 12th for pre-registration and abstract submission. See conference webpage for detail.

** Accommodation **
You will find a list of recommended hotels on the conference website:

Note that Paris is a busy tourist destination in June, so we recommend booking accommodation at your earliest convenience.

** Social events **
All participants are welcome to attend an opening cocktail at the Observatoire de Paris on Monday, June 26th, as well as the conference banquet, which will take place on a dinner-cruise boat on the Seine river on Wednesday, June 28th:

On behalf of the organizing committee, I am looking forward to welcoming you in Paris in June,

Guillaume Faye
Institut d’Astrophysique de Paris


List of invited speakers

Bruce Allen (Albert-Einstein-Institut, Max-Planck-Institut für Gravitationsphysik, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, Leibniz Universitaet Hannover)
Krzysztof Belczynski (Astronomical Observatory, Warsaw University)
Luc Blanchet (Institut d’Astrophysique de Paris, CNRS)
Manuela Campanelli (Rochester Institute of Technology)
Neil J. Cornish (Montana State University)
Thibault Damour (Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques)
Lawrence E. Kidder (Cornell Center for Astrophysics and Planetary Science, Cornell University)
Sergey Klimenko (University of Florida)
Luis Lehner (Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics)
Selma E. de Mink (Astronomical Institute Anton Pannekoek, University of Amsterdam)
Ewald Mueller (Max-Planck-Institut fuer Astrophysik)
Tsvi Piran (Racah Institute of Physics, Hebrew University)
Frederic A. Rasio (CIERA, Physics and Astronomy, Northwestern University)
David H. Reitze (LIGO, California Institute of Technology, University of Florida)
Alberto Sesana (School of Physics and Astronomy, University of Birmingham)
Masaru Shibata (Center for Gravitational Physics, Yukawa Institute for Theoretical Physics, Kyoto University)
Xavier Siemens (University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee)
James Ira Thorpe (Gravitational Astrophysics Lab, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center)
Maarten Van de Meent (Mathematical Sciences, University of Southampton)
Chris Van den Broeck (Nationaal instituut voor subatomaire fysica – Nikhef)
Jean-Yves Vinet (Artemis, Universite’ Cote d’Azur CNRS, Observatoire Côte d’Azur)
Marta Volonteri (Institut d’Astrophysique de Paris)