2017 Awards for Essays on Gravitation

More info:  external link

The trustees are pleased to announce the Awards for Essays for 2017.

1. $4,000 – Gravity and Handedness of Photons by Ivan Agullo[1], Adrian del Rio[2], and Jose Navarro-Salas[2], [1]Department of Physics and Astronomy, Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA 70803-4001, [2]Departamento de Fisica Teorica and IFIC, Centro Mixto Universidad de Valencia-CSIC. Facultad de Fisica, Burjassot-46100, Valencia, Spain; e-mail: agullo[AT]lsu.edu, adrian.rio[AT]uv.es, jnavarro[AT]ific.uv.es

2. $1,250 – Spacetime Has a ‘Thickness’ by Samir D. Mathur, Department of Physics, The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH 43210; e-mail: mathur.16[AT]osu.edu

3. $1,000 – Black Holes and Hurwitz Class Numbers by Shamit Kachru[1] and Arnav Tripathy[2], [1]Stanford Institute for Theoretical Physics, Stanford University, Palo Alto, CA 94305, [2]Department of Mathematics, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA 02138; Email: skachru[AT]stanford.edu, tripathy[AT]math.harvard.edu

4. $750 – A Proof of the Weak Gravity Conjecture by Shahar Hod, The Ruppin Academic Center, Emeq Hefer 40250, Israel and The Hadassah Institute, Jerusalem 91010, Israel; e-mail: shaharhod[AT]gmail.com

5. $500 – Gravitational Wave – Gauge Field Dynamics by R. R. Caldwell[1], C. Devulder[1], and N. A. Maksimova[2], [1]Department of Physics and Astronomy, Dartmouth College, 6127 Wilder Laboratory, Hanover, NH 03755, [2]Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics, Cambridge, MA 02138; e-mail: robert.r.caldwell[AT]dartmouth.edu, christopher.devulder.gr[AT]dartmouth.edu, nina.maksimova[AT]cfa.harvard.edu

Selected for Honorable Mention this year were (listed in alphabetical order): Dharam Vir Ahluwalia; Michele Arzano and Gianluca Calcagni;Valentina Baccetti, Robert B. Mann, and Daniel R. Terno; Ning Bao, Sean M. Carroll, and Ashmeet Singh; W. Barreto, H. P. de Oliveira, and E. L. Rodrigues; John D. Barrow and Chandrima Ganguly; Spyros Basilakos, Vahid Kamali, and Ahmad Mehrabi; David Benisty and E. I. Guendelman; Pablo Bueno and Pablo A. Cano; Alexander Burinskii; F. I. Cooperstock; Maxim Eingorn, Claus Kiefer, and Alexander Zhuk; Netta Engelhardt and Sebastian Fischetti; John Estes, Michael Kavic, Matthew Lippert, and John H. Simonetti; Ricardo Z. Ferreira, McCullen Sandora, and Martin S. Sloth; Arthur E. Fischer; Antonino Flachi and Kenji Fukushima; Wen-Cong Gan and Fu-Wen Shu; Yuan K. Ha; Richard T. Hammond; Johan Hansson and Stephane Francois; Robert J. Hardwick, Vincent Vennin, and David Wands; Nader A. Inan; Nirmalya Kajuri; Archil Kobakhidze, Cyril Lagger, and Adrian Manning; Philip D. Mannheim; Elliot Nelson and C. Jess Riedel; T. Padmanabhan and Hamsa Padmanabhan; Tejinder P. Singh; C. Sivaram; Matt Visser; Asher Yahalom.

This announcement and abstracts of award-winning and honorable mention essays will be posted when ready on our web site, http:/www.gravityresearchfoundation.org. The five award-winning essays will be published in a special issue of the International Journal of Modern Physics D (IJMPD). They will also be posted at a later date on our web site.