Awards for Essays on Gravitation, 2018

More info:  external link

In 2018, for our sixty-ninth competition, the trustees of the Gravity Research Foundation are offering five awards for short essays for stimulating thought and encouraging work on the phenomenon of gravitation. The stipulations follow:

(1) We will make these Awards on May 15, 2018 for the best and most well-written essays about gravitation, its theory, applications or effects. Essays should be 1500 words or fewer excluding abstracts and a small number of equations, diagrams, tables and references. The subject matter may or may not be original research. The essay competition is not intended to replace a research journal where the detailed results of original research are submitted. Essays should not give lengthy detailed mathematical calculations nor detailed descriptions of an experimental setup. Essay ideas should be self-contained and understandable – not dependent on reading other documents.

(2) The First Award will be $4000.00
The Second Award will be 1250.00
The Third Award will be 1000.00
The Fourth Award will be 750.00
The Fifth Award will be 500.00

(3) Essay must be in English and e-mailed in a single PDF file before April 1, 2018. One essay only will be accepted from each author. Notify us within 24 hours if you do not receive an e-mail confirmation of your submission.

(4) Title page should include: essay title, authors’ names (specify corresponding author), e-mail & mailing addresses, submission date, an abstract of 125 words or fewer, and the statement: “Essay written for the Gravity Research Foundation 2018 Awards for Essays on Gravitation.” Pages should be numbered.

(5) The decision of the judges will be final and no reviews or comments will be provided.

(6) Please check the winners’ announcement to be posted on our website: around May 15, 2018. We will also attempt to send all participants a general e-mail notification.

(7) The five award-winning essays will be published in a special issue of the International Journal of Modern Physics D (IJMPD). Authors of essays designated Honorable Mention will be invited to submit their essays to the IJMPD where these may undergo additional refereeing at editorial discretion for possible publication. Authors of all other essays are free and encouraged to publish their essays after May 15th.
Submission e-mail address: George M. Rideout, Jr., President, grideoutjr[AT]

Recent First Award Winners:
2017 – Ivan Agullo, LSU; Adrian del Rio & Jose Navarro-Salas, Centro Mixto Universidad de Valencia-CSIC, Spain
2016 – Stephen L. Adler, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, New Jersey
2015 – Gerard’t Hooft, Utrecht University & Spinoza Institute, the Netherlands
2014 – Lawrence M. Krauss, Arizona State University & Frank Wilczek, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)
2013 – Baocheng Zhang, Qing-yu Cai, Ming-sheng Zhan, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Wuhan and Li You, Tsinghua University, Bejing, PR China
2012 – Claus Kiefer & Manuel Kraemer, University of Cologne, Koeln, Germany
2011 – Ivan Agullo, Penn State & Leonard Parker, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
2010 – Mark Van Raamsdonk, University of British Columbia, Vancouver
2009 – Alexander Burinskii, Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia
2008 – T. Padmanabhan, IUCAA, Pune, India
2007 – S. Carlip, University of California at Davis
2006 – Vijay Balasubramanian, University of Pennsylvania; Donald Marolf, University of California at Santa Barbara & Moshe Rozali, University of British Columbia
2005 – John Ellis, CERN; N. E. Mavromatos, King’s College London & D. V. Nanopoulos, Texas A & M University
2004 – Maulik Parikh, Columbia University, New York