Gravity Research Foundation, Awards for Essays for 2018

More info:  external link

Roger W. Babson, FOUNDER
George M. Rideout, Jr. President

The trustees are pleased to announce the Awards for Essays for 2018.

1. $4,000 – Gravity’s Universality: The Physics Underlying Tolman Temperature Gradients by Jessica Santiago and Matt Visser, School of Mathematics and Statistics, Victoria University of Wellington; PO Box 600, Wellington 6140, New Zealand; e-mail: jessica.santiago[AT], matt.visser[AT]

2. $1,250 – A Microscopic Model for an Emergent Cosmological Constant by Alejandro Perez[1], Daniel Sudarsky[2], and James D. Bjorken[3], [1]Aix Marseille Univ, Universite’ de Toulon, CNRS, CPT, Marseille, France, [2]Instituto de Ciencias Nucleares, Universidad Nacional, Autónoma de Mexico, Mexico, D.F. 04510, Mexico, [3]SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, Stanford University, Stanford, CA 94309; e-mail: perez[AT], sudarsky[AT], bjbjorken[AT]

3. $1,000 – GR and Classical Mechanics: Magic? by Ezra Newman, Dept of Physics and Astronomy, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA 15213; e-mail: newman[AT]

4. $750 – The Kinetic Theory of the Mesoscopic Spacetime by T. Padmanabhan, IUCAA, Pune University Campus, Ganeshkhind, Pune – 411 007, India; e-mail: paddy[AT]

5. $500 – The Holographic Space-time Model of Cosmology by Tom Banks[1] and W. Fischler[2], [1]NHETC and Department of Physics, Rutgers University, Piscataway, NJ 08854-8019, [2]Department of Physics and Texas Cosmology Center, University of Texas, Austin, TX 78712; e-mail: tibanks[AT], fischler[AT]

Selected for Honorable Mention this year were (listed in alphabetical order): Ana Alonso-Serrano, Mariusz P. Dabrowski, and Hussain Gohar; Sudarshan Ananth, Lars Brink, and Sucheta Majumdar; Swastik Bhattacharya and S. Shankaranarayanan; Jens Boos; Subenoy Chakraborty and Subhra Bhattacharya; Chiang- Mei Chen, Jian-Liang Liu, and James M. Nester; Christian Corda; Saurya Das, Mir Faizal, and Elias C. Vagenas; Eric Dupuis and M. B. Paranjape; Joshua Erlich; C. Fairoos, Avirup Ghosh, and Sudipta Sarkar; Arthur E Fischer; Steven B. Giddings; Andri Gretarsson, Preston Jones, and Douglas Singleton; D. Grumiller and M.M. Sheikh-Jabbari; Richard T Hammond; Shahar Hod; Olaf Hohm; Sabine Hossenfelder and Tobias Mistele; Michael J. Kavic, Djordje Minic, and John Simonetti; Swanand Khanapurkar and Tejinder P. Singh; Stefano Lucat, Tomislav Prokopec, and Bogumila Swiezewska; Emil J. Martinec; Samir D. Mathur; Tim R. Morris; Joan Sola Peracaula; Fabrizio Pinto; Nikodem Poplawski; R. H. Sanders; W. M. Stuckey, Timothy McDevitt, A. K. Sten, and Michael Silberstein; Angelo Tartaglia; C. S. Unnikrishnan and George T. Gillies; Tanmay Vachaspati and George Zahariade; Yong Xiao.

This announcement and abstracts of award-winning and honorable mention essays will be posted when ready on our web site, The five award-winning essays will be published in a special issue of the International Journal of Modern Physics D (IJMPD). They will also be posted at a later date on our web site.