Gravity Research Foundation, Awards for Essays for 2019

More info:  external link

Gravity Research Foundation, Awards for Essays for 2019

The trustees are pleased to announce the Awards for Essays for 2019.

1. $4,000 – Information Content of the Gravitational Field of a Quantum Superposition by Alessio Belenchia[1], Robert M. Wald[2], Flaminia Giacomini[3], Esteban Castro-Ruiz[3], Caslav Brukner[3], and Markus Aspelmeyer[3], [1]Centre for Theoretical Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics, School of Mathematics and Physics, Queen’s University, Belfast BT7 1NN, United Kingdom, [2]Enrico Fermi Institute and Department of Physics, The University of Chicago, 5640 South Ellis Avenue, Chicago, Il 60637, [3]Institute for Quantum Optics and Quantum Information (IQOQI), Boltzmanngasse 3, 1090 Vienna, Austria; e-mail:,,,,,

2. $1,250 – Non-Perturbative de Sitter Vacua via alpha’ Corrections by Olaf Hohm[1] and Barton Zwiebach[2], [1]Institute for Physics, Humboldt University Berlin, Zum Grossen Windkanal 6, D-12489 Berlin, Germany, [2]Center for Theoretical Physics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA 02139; e-mail:,

3. $1,000 – Can Fermionic Dark Matter Mimic Supermassive Black Holes? by C. R. Arguelles[1], A. Krut[2], J. A. Rueda[2][3], and R. Ruffini[2][4], [1]Instituto de Astrofisica de La Plata, (CCT La Plata, CONICET, UNLP), Paseo del Bosque, B1900FWA La Plata, Argentina, [2]ICRANet, Piazza della Repubblica 10, I-65122 Pescara, Italy, [3]INAF, Istituto de Astrofisica e Planetologia Spaziali, Via Fosso del Cavaliere 100, 00133 Rome, Italy, [4]INAF, Viale del Parco Mellini 84, 00136 Rome, Italy; e-mail:,,,

4. $750 – How to Hide a Cosmological Constant by Steven Carlip, Department of Physics, University of California, Davis, CA 95616; e-mail:

5. $500 – Einstein’s Dream by Richard T. Hammond, Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC 27599 and Army Research Office, Research Triangle Park, 800 Park Offices Dr, Durham, NC 27703; e-mail:

Selected for Honorable Mention this year were (listed in alphabetical order): Fotios K. Anagnostopoulos, Georgios Kofinas, and Vasilios Zarikas; Gustavo Arciniega, Pablo Bueno, Pablo A. Cano, Jose D. Edelstein, Robie A. Hennigar, and Luisa G. Jaime; Sebastian Bahamonde and Mir Faizal; Yang Bai and Nicholas Orlofsky; Spyros Basilakos, Nick E. Mavromatos, and Joan Sola’ Peracaula; Per Berglund, Tristan Huebsch, and Djordje Minic; Alexander Burinskii; ChunJun Cao, Aidan Chatwin-Davies, and Ashmeet Singh; Man Ho Chan; Geoffrey Compere; Yogesh Dandekar; Shounak De, Tejinder P. Singh, and Abhinav Varma; Tevian Dray and Carlo Rovelli; Arthur E. Fischer; Yuan K. Ha; Dennis Hansen, Jelle Hartong, and Niels A. Obers; Shahar Hod; Ted Jacobson and Manus Visser; Jose Beltran Jimenez, Lavinia Heisenberg, and Tomi S. Koivisto; Nemanja Kaloper; Philip D. Mannheim; Samir D. Mathur; F. Melia; K. Narayan; T. Padmanabhan; Giandomenico Palumbo; Paolo Pani and Andrea Maselli; Tsvi Piran and Bernard F. Schutz; Marco Piva; Suvrat Raju; S. Shankaranarayanan; Martina Toscani, Giuseppe Lodato, and Elena Maria Rossi; Asher Yahalom; Ding-fang Zeng.

This announcement and abstracts of award-winning and honorable mention essays will be posted when ready on our web site, The five award-winning essays will be published in a special issue of the International Journal of Modern Physics D (IJMPD). They will also be posted at a later date on our web site.