2021 Awards for Essays on Gravitation (results)

More info:  external link

Gravity Research Foundation

The trustees are pleased to announce the Awards for Essays for 2021.

1. $4,000 – The Elastic Vacuum by Samir D. Mathur, Department of Physics, The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH 43210; e-mail: mathur.16[AT]osu.edu

2. $700 – Quantum Gravity Phenomenology in the Infrared by Laurent Freidel[1], Jerzy Kowalski-Glikman[2][3], Robert G. Leigh[4], and Djordje Minic[5], [1]Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics, 31 Caroline St. N., Waterloo ON, Canada, [2]Institute for Theoretical Physics, University of Wroclaw, Pl. Maksa Borna 9, 50-204 Wroclaw, Poland, [3]National Centre for Nuclear Research, Pasteura 7, 02-093 Warsaw, Poland, [4]Illinois Center for Advanced Studies of the Universe & Department of Physics, University of Illinois, 1110 West Green St., Urbana IL 61801, [5]Department of Physics, Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, VA 24061; e-mail: lfreidel[AT]perimeterinstitute.ca, jerzy.kowalski-glikman[AT]uwr.edu.pl, rgleigh[AT]illinois.edu, dminic[AT]vt.edu

3. $600 – The Quantum Emission of an Alive Black Hole by J. A. Rueda[1][2][3][4][5] and R. Ruffini[1][2][6], [1]ICRANet, Piazza della Repubblica 10, I-65122 Pescara, Italy, [2]ICRA, Dipartimento di Fisica, Sapienza Universita’ di Roma, P.le Aldo Moro 5, I-00185 Rome, Italy, [3]ICRANet-Ferrara, Dipartimento di Fisica e Scienze della Terra, Universita’ degli Studi di Ferrara, Via Saragat 1, I-44122 Ferrara, Italy, [4]Dipartimento di Fisica e Scienze della Terra, Universita’ degli Studi di Ferrara, Via Saragat 1, I-44122 Ferrara, Italy, [5]INAF, Istituto de Astrofisica e Planetologia Spaziali, Via Fosso del Cavaliere 100, 00133 Rome, Italy, [6]INAF, Viale del Parco Mellini 84, 00136 Rome Italy; e-mail: jorge.rueda[AT]icra.it, ruffini[AT]icra.it

4. $500 – Einstein-Hilbert Action, with Quantum Corrections, from the Planck Scale Coarse-Graining of the Spacetime Microstructure by T. Padmanabhan, IUCAA, Post Bag 4, Ganeshkhind, Pune – 411 007, India; email: paddy[AT]iucaa.in

5. $400 – Euclidean Gravity and Holography by Daniel Harlow[1] and Edgar Shaghoulian[2], [1]Center for Theoretical Physics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA 02139, [2]David Rittenhouse Laboratory, University of Pennsylvania, 209 S. 33rd Street, Philadelphia PA, 19104; e-mail: harlow[AT]mit.edu, eshag[AT]sas.upenn.edu

Selected for Honorable Mention this year were (listed in alphabetical order): Stephen L. Adler; Ivan Agullo, Vitor Cardoso, Adrian del Rio, Michele Maggiore, and Jorge Pullin; Dharam Vir Ahluwalia; Aghil Alaee, Marcus Khuri, and Hari Kunduri; Steven A. Balbus; Souvik Banerjee, Ulf Danielsson, and Suvendu Giri; Ning Bao and Elizabeth Wildenhain; Mauricio Bellini; Robert Brandenberger, Lavinia Heisenberg, and Jakob Robnik; Ram Brustein and Yotam Sherf; Luca Buoninfante; Xavier Calmet and Folkert Kuipers; Raul Carballo-Rubio, Francesco Di Filippo, and Stefano Liberati; Ashkbiz Danehkar, Hassan Alshal, and Thomas L. Curtright; Saurya Das and Sourav Sur; Joshua Erlich; Arthur E. Fischer; Yonadav Barry Ginat; E.I. Guendelman; Shahar Hod; Aden Jowsey and Matt Visser; John R. Klauder; Jose’ Ademir Sales Lima and Pedro Eleuterio Mendonca Almeida; Philip D. Mannheim and John W. Moffat; Donald Marolf and Henry Maxfield; Frank Saueressig, Mina Galis, Jesse Daas, and Amir Khosravi; Susan M Scott and Ben W Whale; Tejinder P. Singh; W.M. Stuckey, Timothy McDevitt, and Michael Silberstein; F. Tamburini, F. Feleppa, and B. Thide’; Wanpeng Tan; C.S. Unnikrishnan and George T. Gillies; Nicolas Valdes-Meller; Ram Gopal Vishwakarma; Aron C. Wall; Asher Yahalom.

This announcement and abstracts of award-winning and honorable mention essays are posted on our web site, http://www.gravityresearchfoundation.org. The five award-winning essays are also posted on our web site and will be published in the October 2021 SPECIAL ISSUE of the International Journal of Modern Physics D (IJMPD).