2022 Awards for Essays for Gravitation

More info:  external link

The trustees are pleased to announce the Awards for Essays for 2022.

1. $4,000 – Proper Time Quantization of a Thin Shell by Cenalo Vaz, University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, OH 45221-0011; email: cenalo.vaz[AT]uc.edu

2. $700 – “The More Things Change the More they Stay the Same”, Minimum Lengths with Unmodified Uncertainty Principle and Dispersion Relation by Michael Bishop[1], Joey Contreras[2], and Douglas Singleton[2], [1]Mathematics Department, California State University Fresno, Fresno, CA 93740, [2]Physics Department, California State University Fresno, Fresno, CA 93740; email: mibishop[AT]mail.fresnostate.edu, mkfetch[AT]mail.fresnostate.edu, dougs[AT]mail.fresnostate.edu

3. $600 – Black Holes Decohere Quantum Superpositions by Daine L. Danielson, Gautam Satishchandran, and Robert M. Wald, Enrico Fermi Institute and Department of Physics, The University of Chicago, Chicago, IL 60637; email: daine[AT]uchicago.edu, gautamsatish[AT]uchicago.edu, rmwa[AT]uchicago.edu

4. $500 – Large Momentum Transfer Optics: A Means to Probe the Interplay between Gravity and Quantum Mechanics by Shraddha Agrawal, Department of Physics, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, IL 61801; email: sa30[AT]illinois.edu

5. $400 – Unitarity and Quantum Resolution of Gravitational Singularities by Steffen Gielen[1] and Lucia Menendez-Pidal[2], [1]School of Mathematics and Statistics, University of Sheffield, Hicks Building, Hounsfield Road, Sheffield S3 7RH, United Kingdom, [2]School of Mathematical Sciences, University of Nottingham, University Park, Nottingham NG7 2RD, United Kingdom; email: s.c.gielen[AT]sheffield.ac.uk, lucia.menendez-pidal[AT]nottingham.ac.uk

Selected for Honorable Mention this year were (listed in alphabetical order):

Jeffrey Alloy Q. Abanto; Stephen L. Adler; Ivan Agullo, Anthony J. Brady, and Dimitrios Kranas; D. Benisty, A. van de Venn, D. Vasak, J. Struckmeier, and H. Stoecker; Per Berglund, Tristan Huebsch, David Mattingly, and Djordje Minic; Panos Betzios, Nava Gaddam, and Olga Papadoulaki; Yuri Bonder and Johas D. Morales; Valentin Boyanov; Suddhasattwa Brahma, Robert Brandenberger, and Samuel Laliberte; Pisin Chen, Misao Sasaki, Dong-Han Yeom, and Junggi Yoon; Saurya Das and Sourav Sur; Arthur E. Fischer; Joshua Foo, Robert B. Mann, and Magdalena Zych; Leonardo Giani and Tamara Maree Davis; Andre’ Grossardt; Eduardo I. Guendelman and Zeeya Merali; Bin Guo and Samir D. Mathur; Carlos A. R. Herdeiro and Eugen Radu; Clifford V. Johnson; Arun Kenath, Christoph Schiller, and C. Sivaram; R. B. MacKenzie, Victor Massart, M. B. Paranjape, Gordon Semenoff, and U. A. Yajnik; Juan F. Pedraza, Andrea Russo, Andrew Svesko, and Zachary Weller-Davies; Joseph Samuel; Tejinder P. Singh; Erickson Tjoa and Finnian Gray; C. S. Unnikrishnan; Juan Urrutia; Erik Verlinde and Manus Visser; Ram Gopal Vishwakarma; Peter Woit; Asher Yahalom.

This announcement and abstracts of award-winning and honorable mention essays are posted on our web site, http://www.gravityresearchfoundation.org. The five award-winning essays are also posted on our website and will be published in the October 2022 SPECIAL ISSUE of the International Journal of Modern Physics D (IJMPD).

PO BOX 81389

Roger W. Babson

George M. Rideout, Jr.