Women Of the World (WOW) in Physics! (online)

More info:  external link
Date:  2022-11-09  -  2022-11-11

Location:  Online, Frankfurt, Germany

Dear students,
Dear members of the scientific community,
Dear colleagues,

It is our great pleasure to announce that the first international online conference

WOW Physics! (Women Of the World in Physics!)

will take place from Nov 9 to 11, 2022 and will be hosted by Goethe University Frankfurt, Germany.

WOW Physics! will honor inspiring women in physics and celebrate their outstanding contributions in science. The conference will gather physicists from all over the world and all stages of their careers who work on theoretical and experimental aspects of

atomic, molecular and optical physics,
condensed matter physics
heavy-ion physics,
geophysics, and
particle physics.

Confirmed plenary speakers are:

Prof. Barbara Jacak (UC Berkeley)
Prof. Barbara Romanowicz (UC Berkeley and College de France)
Prof. Christiane Koch (Free University of Berlin)
Prof. Claudia Felser (Director, Max Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids)
Prof. Heather Lewandowski (University of Colorado Boulder)
Prof. Irina Artemieva (GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel)
Prof. Johanna Stachel (Heidelberg University)
Prof. Kandice Tanner (U.S. National Cancer Institute)
Prof. Laura H. Greene (Florida State University and U.S. National High Magnetic Field Laboratory; U.S. President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology member)
Prof. Margaret Gardel (University of Chicago)
Dr. Maria Lugaro (Konkoly Observatory)
Prof. Melissa Franklin (Harvard University)
Prof. Nandini Trivedi (Ohio State University)
Prof. Samaya Nissanke (GRAPPA Amsterdam)

Everyone who is interested – no matter which gender and if student, postdoc, faculty or staff – is invited to join the workshop! Registration is free and now open!

To register and for more information about WOW Physics!, please visit:


We are very much looking forward to seeing you at the workshop!

Best wishes,
Laura Sagunski (chair),

on behalf of the local organizing committee:
Prof. Alberica Toia
Prof. Camilla Hansen
Prof. Elena Bratkovskaya
Prof. Falko Pientka
Prof. Francesca Cuteri
Dr. Kristin Kliemt
Prof. Luciano Rezzolla
Prof. Marcus Bleicher
Prof. Roser Valenti
Tamara Caldas Cifuentes