Nominations for the 2023 Karl Schwarzschild Prize

More info:  external link

Nominations are invited for the 2023 Karl Schwarzschild Prize, awarded by the Walter Greiner-Society for Fundamental Physics Research in Frankfurt, to honour the memory of Karl Schwarzschild, who studied in Frankfurt at the beginning of his career.

This award amounts to 10,000 EUR and recognizes outstanding contributions in gravitational physics and astrophysics, including the technological aspects.

Any scientist who has provided important contributions is eligible for the award. Nominations should be sent electronically to Prof. Dr. Juergen Struckmeier, Chair of the Karl Schwarzschild Award Selection Committee, at this address: struckmeier[AT]

The nomination should include:

– a Laudatio summarising the reasons for the nomination (2 pages max)
– a CV of the nominee
– a list of publications over the last 10 years.

Self-nominations will not be accepted. The deadline for nominations is 1 June 2023.

Juergen Struckmeier, Chair, Karl Schwarzschild Award Selection Committee