Simulating Extreme Spacetimes with SpEC and SpECTRE, Rhode Island, NE, USA

More info:  external link
Date:  2024-08-05  -  2024-08-09

Location:  Rhode Island, USA

Applications are now open for an upcoming workshop, “Simulating Extreme Spacetimes with SpEC and SpECTRE”, Aug 5-9, 2024, at ICERM, Brown University, US.

The Simulating eXtreme Spacetimes (SXS) collaboration has managed the development of two distinct numerical relativity codes to enable high-fidelity simulations of compact object mergers: (i) the Spectral Einstein Code (SpEC) based on pseudospectral methods, and (ii) the open-source code SpECTRE, an hp-adaptive discontinuous Galerkin scheme for relativistic astrophysics.

Our weeklong program includes two related activities: (i) a SpEC and SpECTRE developers meeting and (ii) a SpECTRE community workshop.

The code developers’ meeting will bring together researchers who are actively developing SpEC, SpECTRE, and accompanying software for interacting with publicly available simulation datasets such as gravitational waveforms.

Our SpECTRE workshop aims to provide graduate students, postdocs, and faculty with the tools to install, run, and contribute to the open-source code SpECTRE. The open-source code SpECTRE is a relativistic astrophysics code for simulating neutron star mergers, core-collapse supernovae, and gamma-ray bursts. Our SpECTRE workshop will include both lectures and hands-on sessions. Lecture topics will include the generalized harmonic formulation of the Einstein field equation, general relativistic hydrodynamics, the discontinuous Galerkin method with finite volume sub-cells, and the Cauchy characteristic extraction method. There will also be ample opportunity for students and postdocs to interact with senior participants and lecturers of the ICERM workshop program.

Both events will be in-person, with streaming options available for lectures. ICERM will be able to offer limited funding for some participants.

The application deadline is March 12, 2024.

With warm regards,
Katerina Chatziioannou, Nils Deppe, Scott Field, Lawrence Kidder, Geoffrey Lovelace, Harald Pfeiffer, Mark Scheel, Leo Stein, Saul Teukolsky, Vijay Varma, Nils Vu