ESA Reserach Fellowships in Space Science, The Netherlands, Spain

The European Space Agency awards several postdoctoral fellowships each year.

The aim of these fellowships is to provide scientists in their early career, holding a PhD or the equivalent degree, with the means of performing research in fields related to the ESA Science Programme.

Areas of research include planetary science, astronomy and astrophysics, solar and solar-terrestrial science, plasma physics and fundamental physics. The fellowships have a duration of two years, with the possible extension to three years, and are tenable at the European Space Research and Technology Centre (ESTEC) in Noordwijk, Netherlands, or at the European Space Astronomy Centre (ESAC) in Villafranca del Castillo, near Madrid, Spain.

Applications are now solicited for fellowships in space science to begin in the fall of 2020. Preference will be given to applications submitted by candidates in an early stage of their career. Candidates not holding a PhD yet are encouraged to apply, but they must provide evidence of receiving their degree before starting the fellowship.

ESA fellows are enrolled in ESA’s Social Security Scheme, which covers medical expenses. A monthly deduction covers these short-term and long-term risks.

The deadline for applications is 1 October 2019.

More information on the ESA Research Fellowship programme in Space Science, on the conditions and eligibility, as well as the application form can retrieved from the fellowship website (see link).

Questions on the scientific aspects of the ESA Fellowship in Space Science not answered in the above pages can be sent by e-mail to the fellowship coordinators, Dr. Oliver Jennrich or Dr. Jan-Uwe Ness
at the address fellowship[AT]

Heinrich Hertz Fellowship in History and Philosophy of Physics, Bonn, Germany

The Heinrich Hertz Fellowship in History and Philosophy of physics is designed to allow PhD students and early-career scholars to spend 3 months, 6 months or an entire academic year (9 months) at the University of Bonn to work on any topic in history and philosophy of physics; though a focus of the group in Bonn for the next decade will be the history and philosophy of gravitational physics, especially since the 1950s. Thus, gravitational physicists who would like to try out history and philosophy of physics, whether to work on the foundations of Einstein’s approach to GR, the singularity theorems, or the discovery and interpretation of recent LIGO data, to name just a few possibilities, are very much encouraged to apply. Fellows have no formal duties apart apart from following their own research agenda and interacting with the other historians and philosophers of physics in Bonn. Hertz fellows are provided with:

– A (possibly shared) office at the Electoral Palace, which houses the Institute of Philosophy of the University of Bonn.

– A monthly stipend of 2500 Euros to cover accommodation and maintenance during the stay in Bonn. Stipends are not generally taxable in Germany. Fellows have to show that they have sufficient (travel) health insurance for their stay in Bonn.

– Reimbursements of some conference travel and similar expenses during the stay in Bonn.

Starting times of the fellowships are flexible. However, the default would be to start on the 1st of October (beginning of the Winter Semester) or the 1st of April (beginning of the summer semester).

ISGRG Fellowship Nominations (reminder)

The International Society on General Relativity and Gravitation invites nominations for ISGRG Fellowship to recognize its outstanding members. The primary criterion for election is excellence in research, especially the impact of candidate’s work on the development of our field. The candidate will be generally expected to have made additional contributions to the field, for example through service, and/or outreach, and/or books and monographs, etc. In exceptional cases such criteria could constitute the primary basis of nomination provided these activities have had influence on a significant portion of our community, not just the home institution of the candidate.

Nominations are due by December 31st, 2015. The elected Fellows will be inducted during the Business Meeting of the Society at GR 21 in New York City, July, 11-15, 2016. Any member of the Society can make nominations but self-nominations will not be considered. The nomination packet consists of:
i) A letter summarizing the basis for nomination;
ii) An up-to-date CV and publication list of the nominee;
iii) 1 to 3 supporting letters from members of the Society, and,
iv) A proposed citation.
The nominator must also verify that the nominee is an active member of the ISGRG Society.

Once made, the nomination will remain active for two additional rounds. In particular, all nominations made in the previous two cycles (i.e., for GR19 and GR20) will remain active for this cycle. Further details about ISGRG Fellowship can be found at

The Selection Committee consists of Eanna Flanagan, James Hough, Carlo Rovelli, and Robert Wald (chair), together with ex officio members Beverly Berger, Gary Horowitz, and Malcolm MacCallum. Nominations should be submitted electronically as PDF files to the chair of the Committee, Robert Wald, at rmwa[AT]