2011 Awards for Essays on Gravitation

More info:  external link

In 2011 for our sixty-second competition, the trustees are offering five Awards for short Essays for the purpose of stimulating thought and encouraging work on Gravitation. The stipulations follow:

(1) We will make these Awards on May 15, 2011 for the best essays, 1500 words or less (excluding abstracts, diagrams, references and minimal equations), on the subject of Gravitation, its theory, applications, or effects.

(2) The First Award will be        $4000.00
The Second Award will be          1250.00
The Third Award will be             1000.00
The Fourth Award will be             750.00
The Fifth Award will be                500.00

(3) Essays must be in English and e-mailed in a single PDF file before April 1, 2011. Page numbering and early submission is greatly encouraged. One essay only will be accepted from each author. Notify us if you do not receive an e-mail confirmation within 48 hours.

(4) Cover pages should include essay title; authors’ names, addresses and e-mail addresses; the statement: “Essay written for the Gravity Research Foundation 2011 Awards for Essays on Gravitation”; submission date; and a summary paragraph of 125 words or less.

(5) The decision of the judges will be final, no reviews will be provided and no essays will be returned.

(6) The list of winners will be posted on our website: http://www.gravityresearchfoundation.org on or about May 15, 2011. All participants will receive a general e-mail notification.

(7) The five award-winning essays will be published in the Journal of General Relativity and Gravitation (GRG) and, subsequently, in a special issue of the International Journal of Modern Physics D (IJMPD). Authors of all other essays are free and encouraged to publish their essays after May 15th. Authors of essays designated Honorable Mention will be invited to submit their essays to the IJMPD where these may undergo additional refereeing at editorial discretion for possible publication.

Submission e-mail address: George M. Rideout, Jr., President (grideoutjr[at]aol.com)

Recent First Award Winners:
2010 – Mark Van Raamsdonk, University of British Columbia, Vancouver
2009 – Alexander Burinskii, Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia
2008 – T. Padmanabhan, IUCAA, Pune, India
2007 – S. Carlip, University of California at Davis
2006 – Vijay Balasubramanian, University of Pennsylvania; Donald Marolf, University of California at Santa Barbara and Moshe Rozali, University of British Columbia
2005 – John Ellis, CERN; N. E. Mavromatos, King’s College London and D. V. Nanopoulos, Texas A&M University
2004 – Maulik Parikh, Columbia University, New York
2003 – Martin Bojowald, The Pennsylvania State University
2002 – Steven B. Giddings, University of California at Santa Barbara and Stanford University, Stanford, California
2001 – Csaba Csaki and Joshua Erlich, Los Alamos National Lab and Christophe Grojean, University of California at Berkeley
2000 – Arthur Lue and Erick J. Weinberg, Columbia University, New York
1999 – John Ellis, CERN; N. E. Mavromatos, University of Oxford and D. V. Nanopoulos, Texas A and M University
1998 – Viqar Husain, University of British Columbia, Vancouver
1997 – Robert Myers, McGill University, Quebec
1996 – D. V. Ahluwalia, Los Alamos National Lab and C. Burgard, Universitaet Hamburg/DESY, II, Germany