Postdoc position in gravity/cosmology at USTC, Hefei, China

More info:  external link
Deadline:  2020-01-15

Location:  Hefei, China

Applications are invited for a postdoctoral position at University of Science and Technology of China, expected to start in the autumn of 2020 or earlier.

The University of Science and Technology of China (USTC) is a top university in China. The postdoctoral position is for 2 years and renewable for up to 3 additional years, contingent on funding and the postdoc’s research performance. The successful candidate is expected primarily to work with Prof Shuang-Yong Zhou’s group ( The information about other faculty members of the theoretical physics group at USTC, Interdisciplinary Center for Theoretical Study, can be found at (, with research interests including string and formal theory, gravity, cosmology, field theory, scattering amplitudes, particle and nuclear physics, etc. The postdoc will also benefit from the research programs and funding opportunities of the newly established Peng Hengwu Center of Fundamental Theory at USTC, as well as interactions with the gravity/cosmology groups in the Astronomy Department of USTC.

The annual salary of the position is from 170,000 to 250,000 CNY, depending on qualifications. Generous international travel funding will be provided, and the postdoc is also entitled to various university benefits, including social and health insurances, housing and childcare subsidies, etc. (With the housing subsidies, it costs less than 1000 CNY/month to rent a 1-bedroom apartment just outside the campus.) Exceptional candidates will be also considered for the Distinguished University Fellowship, which carries a salary top-up of 50,000 to 150,000 CNY per year.

Candidates are invited to send their CV, publication list, a short statement of research interests and to arrange for three letters of reference to be sent to Prof Shuang-Yong Zhou (zhoushy[AT] For enquiries, also contact (zhoushy[AT]

The position is open until filled, but full considerations will be given to applications submitted before January 15, 2020.