2016 Gravity Research Foundation Awards for Essays results

The trustees are pleased to announce the Awards for Essays for 2016.

1. $4,000 – A Frame-Dependent Gravitational Effective Action Mimics a Cosmological Constant, but Modifies the Black Hole Horizon by Stephen L. Adler, Institute for Advanced Study, Einstein Drive, Princeton, NJ 08540; e-mail: adler[AT]ias.edu

2. $1,250 – New Insights into Quantum Gravity from Gauge/Gravity Duality by Netta Engelhardt and Gary T. Horowitz, Department of Physics, University of California, Santa Barbara, CA 93106; e-mail: engeln[AT]physics.ucsb.edu, gary[AT]physics.ucsb.edu

3. $1,000 – Spontaneous Dimensional Reduction in Quantum Gravity by S. Carlip, Department of Physics, University of California, Davis, CA 95616; e-mail: carlip[AT]physics.ucdavis.edu

4.$750 – Quadratic Gravity: from Weak to Strong by Bob Holdom and Jing Ren, Department of Physics, University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5S1A7; e-mail: bob.holdom[AT]utoronto.ca, jren[AT]physics.utoronto.ca

5. $500 – Axion Experiments to Algebraic Geometry – Testing Quantum Gravity via the Weak Gravity Conjecture by Ben Heidenreich, Matthew Reece, and Tom Rudelius, Department of Physics, Harvard University, Jefferson Laboratory, 17 Oxford St., Cambridge, MA, 02138; e-mail: bjheiden[AT]physics.harvard.edu, mreece[AT]physics.harvard.edu, rudelius[AT]physics.harvard.edu

Selected for Honorable Mention this year were (listed in alphabetical order): Ahmed Farag Ali and Saurya Das; Shreya Banerjee, Sayantani Bera, and Tejinder P. Singh; David Berenstein and Alexandra Miller; Evan Berkowitz, Masanori Hanada, and Jonathan Maltz; Matthias Blau and Martin O’Loughlin; Martin Bojowald; Yuri Bonder; Sumanta Chakraborty and Kinjalk Lochan; Lay Nam Chang, Djordje Minic, Chen Sun, and Tatsu Takeuchi; Alessandro Codello and Rajeev Kumar Jain; Geoffrey Compere; F. I. Cooperstock; Roberto Emparan and Marina Martinez; Willy Fischler and Sandipan Kundu; Steven B. Giddings; Eduardo Guendelman, Emil Nissimov, and Svetlana Pacheva; Hal M. Haggard and Carlo Rovelli; Shahar Hod; A. Landry and M. B. Paranjape; Philip D. Mannheim; Samir D. Mathur; T. Padmanabhan and Hamsa Padmanabhan; Don N. Page; Susha L. Parameswaran and Ivonne Zavala; Tsvi Piran; M. M. Sheikh-Jabbari; Douglas Singleton and Steve Wilburn; W. M. Stuckey, Timothy McDevitt, and Michael Silberstein; Tanmay Vachaspati.

This announcement and abstracts of award-winning and honorable mention essays will be posted when ready on our web site, http://www.gravityresearchfoundation.org. The five award-winning essays will be published in a special issue of the International Journal of Modern Physics D (IJMPD). They will also be posted at a later date on our web site.

2016 Awards for Essays on Gravitation


PO BOX 81389

2016 Awards for Essays on Gravitation

In 2016, for our sixty-seventh competition, the trustees of the Gravity Research Foundation are offering five awards for short essays for the purpose of stimulating thought and encouraging work on gravitation. The stipulations follow.

(1) We will make these Awards on May 15, 2016 for the best well-written essays, 1500 words or fewer (excluding abstracts, diagrams, tables, references and a minimal number of equations), on the subject of gravitation, its theory, applications, or effects.

(2) The First Award will be $4000.00
The Second Award will be 1250.00
The Third Award will be 1000.00
The Fourth Award will be 750.00
The Fifth Award will be 500.00

(3) Essays must be in English and e-mailed in a single PDF file before April 1, 2016. One essay only will be accepted from each author. Notify us within 24 hours if you do not receive an e-mail confirmation of your submission.

(4) Title pages should include essay title; authors’ names, e-mail and mailing addresses; submission date; an abstract of 125 words or less; and the statement: “Essay written for the Gravity Research Foundation 2016 Awards for Essays on Gravitation.” Pages should be numbered and the corresponding author specified where necessary.

(5) The decision of the judges will be final and no reviews or comments will be provided.

(6) Please check the winners’ announcement to be posted on our website: www.gravityresearchfoundation.org around May 15, 2016. We will also attempt to send all participants a general e-mail notification.

(7) The five award-winning essays will be published in a special issue of the International Journal of Modern Physics D (IJMPD). Authors of essays designated Honorable Mention will be invited to submit their essays to the IJMPD where these may undergo additional refereeing at editorial discretion for possible publication. Authors of all other essays are free and encouraged to publish their essays after May 15th.

Submission e-mail address: George M. Rideout, Jr., President, grideoutjr[AT]aol.com

Recent First Award Winners:
2015 – Gerard ’t Hooft, Utrecht University & Spinoza Institute, the Netherlands
2014 – Lawrence M. Krauss, Arizona State University and Frank Wilczek, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)
2013 – Baocheng Zhang, Qing-yu Cai, Ming-sheng Zhan, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Wuhan and Li You, Tsinghua University, Bejing, PR China
2012 – Claus Kiefer & Manuel Kraemer, University of Cologne, Koeln, Germany
2011 – Ivan Agullo, Penn State & Leonard Parker, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
2010 – Mark Van Raamsdonk, University of British Columbia, Vancouver
2009 – Alexander Burinskii, Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia
2008 – T. Padmanabhan, IUCAA, Pune, India
2007 – S. Carlip, University of California at Davis
2006 – Vijay Balasubramanian, University of Pennsylvania; Donald Marolf, University of California at Santa Barbara & Moshe Rozali, University of British Columbia
2005 – John Ellis, CERN; N. E. Mavromatos, King’s College London and D. V. Nanopoulos, Texas A&M University
2004 – Maulik Parikh, Columbia University, New York
2003 – Martin Bojowald, The Pennsylvania State University
2002 – Steven B. Giddings, University of California at Santa Barbara & Stanford University
2001 – Csaba Csaki & Joshua Erlich, Los Alamos National Lab & Christophe Grojean, University of California at Berkeley