Gravity Research Foundation, Awards for Essays for 2019

Gravity Research Foundation, Awards for Essays for 2019

The trustees are pleased to announce the Awards for Essays for 2019.

1. $4,000 – Information Content of the Gravitational Field of a Quantum Superposition by Alessio Belenchia[1], Robert M. Wald[2], Flaminia Giacomini[3], Esteban Castro-Ruiz[3], Caslav Brukner[3], and Markus Aspelmeyer[3], [1]Centre for Theoretical Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics, School of Mathematics and Physics, Queen’s University, Belfast BT7 1NN, United Kingdom, [2]Enrico Fermi Institute and Department of Physics, The University of Chicago, 5640 South Ellis Avenue, Chicago, Il 60637, [3]Institute for Quantum Optics and Quantum Information (IQOQI), Boltzmanngasse 3, 1090 Vienna, Austria; e-mail:,,,,,

2. $1,250 – Non-Perturbative de Sitter Vacua via alpha’ Corrections by Olaf Hohm[1] and Barton Zwiebach[2], [1]Institute for Physics, Humboldt University Berlin, Zum Grossen Windkanal 6, D-12489 Berlin, Germany, [2]Center for Theoretical Physics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA 02139; e-mail:,

3. $1,000 – Can Fermionic Dark Matter Mimic Supermassive Black Holes? by C. R. Arguelles[1], A. Krut[2], J. A. Rueda[2][3], and R. Ruffini[2][4], [1]Instituto de Astrofisica de La Plata, (CCT La Plata, CONICET, UNLP), Paseo del Bosque, B1900FWA La Plata, Argentina, [2]ICRANet, Piazza della Repubblica 10, I-65122 Pescara, Italy, [3]INAF, Istituto de Astrofisica e Planetologia Spaziali, Via Fosso del Cavaliere 100, 00133 Rome, Italy, [4]INAF, Viale del Parco Mellini 84, 00136 Rome, Italy; e-mail:,,,

4. $750 – How to Hide a Cosmological Constant by Steven Carlip, Department of Physics, University of California, Davis, CA 95616; e-mail:

5. $500 – Einstein’s Dream by Richard T. Hammond, Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC 27599 and Army Research Office, Research Triangle Park, 800 Park Offices Dr, Durham, NC 27703; e-mail:

Selected for Honorable Mention this year were (listed in alphabetical order): Fotios K. Anagnostopoulos, Georgios Kofinas, and Vasilios Zarikas; Gustavo Arciniega, Pablo Bueno, Pablo A. Cano, Jose D. Edelstein, Robie A. Hennigar, and Luisa G. Jaime; Sebastian Bahamonde and Mir Faizal; Yang Bai and Nicholas Orlofsky; Spyros Basilakos, Nick E. Mavromatos, and Joan Sola’ Peracaula; Per Berglund, Tristan Huebsch, and Djordje Minic; Alexander Burinskii; ChunJun Cao, Aidan Chatwin-Davies, and Ashmeet Singh; Man Ho Chan; Geoffrey Compere; Yogesh Dandekar; Shounak De, Tejinder P. Singh, and Abhinav Varma; Tevian Dray and Carlo Rovelli; Arthur E. Fischer; Yuan K. Ha; Dennis Hansen, Jelle Hartong, and Niels A. Obers; Shahar Hod; Ted Jacobson and Manus Visser; Jose Beltran Jimenez, Lavinia Heisenberg, and Tomi S. Koivisto; Nemanja Kaloper; Philip D. Mannheim; Samir D. Mathur; F. Melia; K. Narayan; T. Padmanabhan; Giandomenico Palumbo; Paolo Pani and Andrea Maselli; Tsvi Piran and Bernard F. Schutz; Marco Piva; Suvrat Raju; S. Shankaranarayanan; Martina Toscani, Giuseppe Lodato, and Elena Maria Rossi; Asher Yahalom; Ding-fang Zeng.

This announcement and abstracts of award-winning and honorable mention essays will be posted when ready on our web site, The five award-winning essays will be published in a special issue of the International Journal of Modern Physics D (IJMPD). They will also be posted at a later date on our web site.

2019 Awards for Essays on Gravitation

In 2019, for our seventieth competition, the trustees of the Gravity Research Foundation are offering five awards for short essays for stimulating thought and encouraging work on the phenomenon of gravitation. The stipulations follow:

(1) We will make these Awards on May 15, 2019 for the best and most well-written essays about gravitation, its theory, applications or effects. Essays should be 1500 words or fewer excluding abstracts and a small number of equations, diagrams, tables and references. The subject matter may or may not be original research. The essay competition is not intended to replace a research journal where the detailed results of original research are submitted. Essays should not give lengthy detailed mathematical calculations nor detailed descriptions of an experimental setup. Essay ideas should be self-contained and understandable – not dependent on reading other documents.

The First Award will be $4000.00
The Second Award will be $1250.00
The Third Award will be $1000.00
The Fourth Award will be $750.00
The Fifth Award will be $500.00

(3) Essay must be in English and e-mailed in a single PDF file before April 1, 2019. One essay only will be accepted from each author. Notify us within 24 hours if you do not receive an e-mail confirmation of your submission.

(4) Title page should include all the following: essay title, authors’ names (specify corresponding author), e-mail & complete mailing addresses, submission date, an abstract of 125 words or fewer, and the statement: “Essay written for the Gravity Research Foundation 2019 Awards for Essays on Gravitation.” Pages should be numbered.

(5) The decision of the judges will be final, and no reviews or comments will be provided.

(6) Please check the winners’ announcement to be posted on our website: around May 15, 2019. We will also attempt to send all participants a general e-mail notification.

(7) The five award-winning essays will be published in a special issue of the International Journal of Modern Physics D (IJMPD). Authors of essays designated Honorable Mention will be invited to submit their essays to the IJMPD where these may undergo additional refereeing at editorial discretion for possible publication. Authors of all other essays are free and encouraged to publish their essays after May 15th.
Submission e-mail address: George M. Rideout, Jr., President, grideoutjr[AT]

Recent First Award Winners:
2018 – Jessica Santiago & Matt Visser, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand
2017 – Ivan Agullo, LSU; Adrian del Rio & Jose Navarro-Salas, Centro Mixto Universidad de Valencia-CSIC, Spain
2016 – Stephen L. Adler, Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton, New Jersey
2015 – Gerard ‘t Hooft, Utrecht University & Spinoza Institute, the Netherlands
2014 – Lawrence M. Krauss, Arizona State University & Frank Wilczek, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)
2013 – Baocheng Zhang, Qing-yu Cai, Ming-sheng Zhan, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Wuhan and Li You, Tsinghua University, Bejing, PR China
2012 – Claus Kiefer & Manuel Kraemer, University of Cologne, Koeln, Germany
2011 – Ivan Agullo, Penn State & Leonard Parker, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
2010 – Mark Van Raamsdonk, University of British Columbia, Vancouver
2009 – Alexander Burinskii, Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia
2008 – T. Padmanabhan, IUCAA, Pune, India
2007 – S. Carlip, University of California at Davis
2006 – Vijay Balasubramanian, University of Pennsylvania; Donald Marolf, University of California at Santa Barbara & Moshe Rozali, University of British Columbia
2005 – John Ellis, CERN; N. E. Mavromatos, King’s College London & D. V. Nanopoulos, Texas A&M University